Historic Simracing Organisation
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Historic Simracing Organisation

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

A complete newbie needs complete advice, please

Go down 
AuthorMessage

A complete newbie needs complete advice, please Empty
PostSubject: A complete newbie needs complete advice, please   A complete newbie needs complete advice, please Icon_minitimeSun 15 Nov 2009 - 22:13

Hi, having once played (or tried to play!) GPL when it first came out, I've never forgotten what a fascinating experience it was.
I'd like to consider racing sims with my new computer, but I am a COMPLETE beginner. I know almost nothing about computer terminology or technology.
My wife's offering me a new laptop, so firstly...what spec. do I need for it if I'm to enjoy a good playing experience?
Secondly, do I need a steering wheel/pedal setup and will they work with a laptop?
Thirdly, my interest is entirely in older cars, preferably pre 1967. Is anything available or projected?
Especially is there anything projected for really old stuff? Truly historic racing like ERAs, Frazer-Nashes, and yes, Invictas?

Many thanks in anticipation for your patience with an old vintage-loving Luddite!
Cheers,
Invicta
Back to top Go down
Guillaume Siebert
League Owner
Guillaume Siebert

Number of posts : 13827
Registration date : 2008-09-08

PostSubject: Re: A complete newbie needs complete advice, please   A complete newbie needs complete advice, please Icon_minitimeMon 16 Nov 2009 - 16:18

Welcome Invicta :hello:
Well first, nobody uses nicknames here, so it would be cool if you could edit your profile with your real name Smile